News alert

Signup for our NewsAlert, and get an e-mail when new articles are posted...

RSS

The latest digital imaging news is also available through our Photokina RSS service. Add the RSS feed to your news feeder and you will receive constantly updated articles on all the Photokina news. To use our RSS service you will need an RSS reader, of which there are many available online.

Photokina RSSPhotokina Headlines
Sitemap by CategorySitemap by Category
Sitemap by BrandSitemap by Brand

News by Category

News by Brand

Canon SX10 IS review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Friday 26th, December 2008

The Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Megazoom camera is the successor to the PowerShot S5 IS. When it comes to appearance, the Canon SX10 IS looks a lot like its predecessor, but if you thought its size would have decreased somewhat, you’re wrong; the camera has even slightly grown. However; you do get something in return. The 12x optical zoom lens has been replaced by a 20x version, which keeps Canon nicely in pace with its rivals. Thankfully, Canon’s image stabilization system supports the zoom lens in order to be able to work with it. Moreover, the resolution has increased from 8 to 10 Megapixels. And although we did not list an increase on our priority list, the image sensor has been enlarged too. A nice bit of compensation.

Read complete story about Canon PowerShot SX10 IS

Canon EOS 50D review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Monday 3rd, November 2008

Sooner than expected, considering Canon usually takes a period of 18 months, the Canon EOS 50D was introduced in August. Although I immediately presumed this was the successor to the 40D, Canon fiercely denied this. The Canon EOS 50D should be considered as a stand-alone DSLR equipped with innovative new techniques. One of which is a newly developed 15.1 Megapixel CMOS sensor that should deliver a better signal/noise ratio despite its higher resolution, whilst the other is a fast DIGIC IV processor that is integrated in the 50D. The Canon EOS 50D SLR camera aims to redefine the quality standard, and thus the camera enters the higher segment.

Read complete story about Canon EOS 50D

Canon IXUS 870 IS test photos

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Wednesday 8th, October 2008

Just before my departure to the Photokina show, various test cameras arrived at my door. That means making product shots, charging batteries and cramming them into my already overfull suitcase with all the things I need for the Photokina show. For me as press member, Photokina means more than just visiting the many booths; I am also there to maintain contact with relations we have within the digital imaging industry. For me the day does not end when the Photokina closes its doors at the end of the day, that bit may be clear. In between, I will test the new Canon IXUS 870IS and make some pictures with it. The 4x wide angle zoom lens with 3 inch display is the most striking detail on the Canon IXUS 870 IS.

Read complete story about Canon IXUS 870 IS

Canon IXUS 980 IS test photos

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Wednesday 8th, October 2008

LetsGoDigital received a test model of the Canon Digital IXUS 980 IS. A new sibling of the IXUS series that is gradually consisting of a huge amount of models. The Canon IXUS 980 IS however, is no longer true to tradition that used to evolve around design and a convenient (full auto) operation. The Canon 980 IS camera offers the possibility of manual aperture or shutter setting, just like the main part of the PowerShot models. This is a setting that I myself have been waiting for impatiently. And it is exactly that combination of a stylishly designed camera, at which you don't only have to depend on an auto camera setting, that is appealing to the photographer.

Read complete story about Canon IXUS 980 IS

Canon PowerShot E1 test photos

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Tuesday 7th, October 2008

Surprising; that is how the design of Canon's latest digital compact camera can be called. It aims at the female consumer, although I can see a much broader target group than just the female half of our population, to be honest. With its availability in many different colours, the design reminds me of the retro refrigerators. You know, the ones with the nicely curved edges and the shiny material used. In any case; I have received a Canon PowerShot E1 sample from Canon right before my departure to the Photokina show. Upon my return from a hectic week at the Photokina, where a lot of interesting news will be revealed this year, I will review the Canon PowerShot E1 with priority.

Read complete story about Canon PowerShot E1

Canon EOS 1000D review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Sunday 31st, August 2008

One of the first things you notice is how much the Canon EOS 1000D resembles its bigger brother, the EOS 450D. The 450D is slightly bigger but that's all. If however, you take a closer look and place both models side by side, you will notice some more differences, although still marginal. The fibre of the handgrip has been changed to a somewhat rougher fibre type, and the IR sensor is lacking. This sensor supports an IR remote control which is not available on the EOS 1000D. When we turn the camera around, we notice the main difference; the size of the monitor. Whereas the EOS 450D features a large sized 3 inch monitor, the owner of an EOS 1000D has to settle for a 2.5 inch version. Still not bad at all.

Read complete story about Canon EOS 1000D

Canon EOS 450D Review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Thursday 15th, May 2008

The latest Canon DSLR is called Canon EOS 450D, and will be put on the market beside the EOS 400D. The SLR cameras look like twins. Canon have kept all the good things of the EOS 400D, whilst adding new ones to it. Naturally the Canon EOS 450D works seamlessly with the EF-S lenses. These were developed especially for the APS-C format of the image sensor, resulting in a cheaper and more compact lens. Together with the compact body, the Canon 450D is the ideal set to use on holiday where usually lots of photographs are taken.

Read complete story about Canon EOS 450D

Canon IXUS 90 Review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Monday 21st, April 2008

The Canon IXUS 90 IS digital camera has a stylish and a compact trendy body offering ten Megapixels of resolution. With the help of a 3x optical zoom, unfortunately no 28mm wide angle, Canon's optical Image Stabilizer (IS) with lens-shifting feature, PureColor LCD II and integrated enhanced intelligent software the Canon Digital IXUS 90 is a camera with powerful features packed in a neat and compact size designer housing. Other features such as for instance quality and user's ease are just as important in contributing to the success of a camera.

Read complete story about Canon Digital IXUS 90 IS


Photokina 2018 Show report : Be part of world’s biggest Photo Imaging Trade Show! The Photokina show is a global platform for innovation and the latest trends for the whole imaging sector. The focus is on the image and shows how the different products and innovative technologies merge and determines the dynamic of today’s market. Via modern communication and even via old plain paperwork everyone can become part of the technology of today and catch a glimpse on the technology of tomorrow. The Photokina 2012 event will showcase a comprehensive presentation of image media, electronic devices, technical services and the imaging market in all its diversity, for both professionals as everyday consumers. The Photokina show in Cologne, Germany, is our favorite, make it yours and bookmark the Photokina live report now!