News alert

Signup for our NewsAlert, and get an e-mail when new articles are posted...

RSS

The latest digital imaging news is also available through our Photokina RSS service. Add the RSS feed to your news feeder and you will receive constantly updated articles on all the Photokina news. To use our RSS service you will need an RSS reader, of which there are many available online.

Photokina RSSPhotokina Headlines
Sitemap by CategorySitemap by Category
Sitemap by BrandSitemap by Brand

Camera Previews

Camera Reviews

Digital Backs

Digital Cameras

Image Sensors

SLR Cameras

Underwater Housings

News by Category

News by Brand

Canon SX10 IS review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Friday 26th, December 2008

The Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Megazoom camera is the successor to the PowerShot S5 IS. When it comes to appearance, the Canon SX10 IS looks a lot like its predecessor, but if you thought its size would have decreased somewhat, you’re wrong; the camera has even slightly grown. However; you do get something in return. The 12x optical zoom lens has been replaced by a 20x version, which keeps Canon nicely in pace with its rivals. Thankfully, Canon’s image stabilization system supports the zoom lens in order to be able to work with it. Moreover, the resolution has increased from 8 to 10 Megapixels. And although we did not list an increase on our priority list, the image sensor has been enlarged too. A nice bit of compensation.

Read complete story about Canon PowerShot SX10 IS

Panasonic DMC-FX150 review

Posted by: Mark Peters Thursday 18th, December 2008

The Panasonic LUMIX DMC-FX150 does not mind a few extra Megapixels. No less than 14.7 Megapixels have been crammed onto the 1/1.72 inch image sensor. We don't even find a resolution this high standard on most digital SLR cameras, exceptional! However, the question arises: what do we do with an amount this high? Is it really necessary to equip a compact camera with a resolution this high, or did marketing play a big role in this? Yet, the fact still stands that the Panasonic LUMIX FX150 was introduced last summer, and that it was exactly this high resolution that distinguishes the camera from other LUMIX introductions.

Read complete story about Panasonic LUMIX DMC-FX150

Sony A350 underwater housing review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Thursday 11th, December 2008

The Sony A350, put in the market by Sony, is a digital reflex camera for the advanced photographer. Professionals will probably find the speed of 2.5 frames per second too slow. However, underwater photography does not require extreme speed since you nearly always make use of flashes and you also have to wait for the flash batteries to recharge before the next shot is enabled. Sony uses Carl Zeiss lenses for the Sony A350. The Sony Alpha SLR camera is light with its 582 grams, as well as compact and has a pleasant hand-fit. The CCD sensor offers 14.2 effective megapixels.

Read complete story about Sony A350 review

Panasonic FZ28 review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Monday 24th, November 2008

When it comes to the design of the Panasonic LUMIX FZ28, it is almost similar to that of its predecessor. Obviously, there is no need or drive to change this design. Also, the dimensions and weight of both cameras are alike, or nearly alike. Even the locations of the buttons have remained untouched. New is the play/record button on the back of the Panasonic lumix FZ28. A nice addition, although generally known already. If you have read the Panasonic FZ18 review, you will recognize a lot as you read on now.

Read complete story about Panasonic Lumix review

Nikon D90 review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Saturday 22nd, November 2008

A DSLR like the Nikon D90 offers a lot, or rather; a heck of a lot of possibilities for the amateur photographer. And the whole secret is to offer all these possibilities in a user-friendly way, since the user should not be overwhelmed. In practice, it turned out we did not have to worry about it. It's not without reason that the well-known green AUTO mode is found on the command dial. If one chooses to use it, no thoughts have to be made about any camera setting whatsoever.

Read complete story about Nikon D90 review

Sony A900 review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Wednesday 12th, November 2008

Some weeks before the Photokina 2008 kicked off, the beginning of September to be precise, Sony introduced its top model of the Alpha assortment: the Sony DSLR-A900. The Sony Alpha A900 features 24.6 megapixels of resolution, a dual BIONZ processor, 5 frames per second and a built-in SteadyShot module that make the A900 a serious candidate to demand its market share in a segment that is currently dominated by Nikon and Canon. During the Photokina event, the new Sony A900 attracted a fair amount of attention. Sony offered the possibility to experience working with an A900 body and lens, with a large choice of available ZEISS lenses, to actually feel how a racing monster like this works in practice.

Read complete story about Sony A900

Canon EOS 50D review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Monday 3rd, November 2008

Sooner than expected, considering Canon usually takes a period of 18 months, the Canon EOS 50D was introduced in August. Although I immediately presumed this was the successor to the 40D, Canon fiercely denied this. The Canon EOS 50D should be considered as a stand-alone DSLR equipped with innovative new techniques. One of which is a newly developed 15.1 Megapixel CMOS sensor that should deliver a better signal/noise ratio despite its higher resolution, whilst the other is a fast DIGIC IV processor that is integrated in the 50D. The Canon EOS 50D SLR camera aims to redefine the quality standard, and thus the camera enters the higher segment.

Read complete story about Canon EOS 50D

Canon IXUS 870 IS test photos

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Wednesday 8th, October 2008

Just before my departure to the Photokina show, various test cameras arrived at my door. That means making product shots, charging batteries and cramming them into my already overfull suitcase with all the things I need for the Photokina show. For me as press member, Photokina means more than just visiting the many booths; I am also there to maintain contact with relations we have within the digital imaging industry. For me the day does not end when the Photokina closes its doors at the end of the day, that bit may be clear. In between, I will test the new Canon IXUS 870IS and make some pictures with it. The 4x wide angle zoom lens with 3 inch display is the most striking detail on the Canon IXUS 870 IS.

Read complete story about Canon IXUS 870 IS


The market for digital compact cameras is steady but does no longer show a significant growth. Within the camera market, the digital SLR camera expanded its market share which gave camera manufacturers like Nikon and Canon a boost in sales. However, the DSLR segment is changing and although the traditional DSLR is still the most important one for consumer and professional photographers, a new segment is grabbing market share and attention from the public. Micro Four Thirds, and other system cameras from Sony and Samsung, could change today’s market share. Canon and Nikon will not give away their market share for free… Photokina 2012 Imaging & Trade show will be the place to be and to get the latest information from all camera manufacturers and their digital cameras.