News alert

Signup for our NewsAlert, and get an e-mail when new articles are posted...

RSS

The latest digital imaging news is also available through our Photokina RSS service. Add the RSS feed to your news feeder and you will receive constantly updated articles on all the Photokina news. To use our RSS service you will need an RSS reader, of which there are many available online.

Photokina RSSPhotokina Headlines
Sitemap by CategorySitemap by Category
Sitemap by BrandSitemap by Brand

Camera Previews

Camera Reviews

Digital Backs

Digital Cameras

Image Sensors

SLR Cameras

Underwater Housings

News by Category

News by Brand

Panasonic Lumix FX33 test photos

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Tuesday 24th, July 2007

At the press conference in Dublin I was able to shoot with the new stylish Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX33 compact camera. The Panasonic FX33 is a camera for the photographer who appreciates convenience shooting and a stylish design. The camera is easy to handle and incorporates a range of pre-programmed scenes, it is offering a range of intelligent camera features to make digital photography as simple as possible. I took the Panasonic camera with me to the Dublin area and was able to test the new intelligent camera features in combination with the MEGA O.I.S system. I have to remind you that the images of the Panasonic Lumix FX33 are still a pre-production level, not final level!

Read complete story about Panasonic Lumix FX33

Panasonic Lumix FZ18 photo gallery

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Tuesday 24th, July 2007

At the press conference in Dublin I was able to shoot with the new Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ18 digital Megazoom camera. The Panasonic FZ18 is a camera for the photographer who is into a variety of photographic shooting. Although the camera is easy to handle and incorporates a range of pre-programmed scenes, it is offering a range of photographic settings like P/S/A/M for the more experienced photographer. I took the Panasonic camera with me to the Dublin area and was able to test the new intelligent camera features in combination with the MEGA O.I.S system. I have to remind you that the images of the Panasonic Lumix FZ18 are still a pre-production level, not final level!

Read complete story about Panasonic Lumix FZ18

Nikon CoolPix railway museum photos

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Wednesday 4th, July 2007

When testing the Nikon Coolpix P5000 digital compact camera, I took it along when I visited a piece of Dutch railway history, the Railway museum in Utrecht. The Railway museum is located in the Maliebaan station and gives visitors a glimpse of the past. Most of the test pictures were taken inside the railway museum, including a large depot where diverse old trains stand established. The lighting conditions were full of contrast ; darkness between the trains with spots of sunlight from the roof here and there. Although the Nikon Coolpix P5000 compact camera has an optical image stabilizer, I had to use a high ISO regularly to achieve the desired shutter speed or aperture.

Read complete story about Railway museum photos

Arches National Park Pictures

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Wednesday 4th, July 2007

I have had the Nikon Coolpix S500 digital compact camera at our office for a long time, and I have made a lot of test shots during my visit the Arch National Park in the Unites States. The new Nikon CoolPix S500 digital camera was officially introduced at the start of 2007, just before the opening of the PMA Show in Las Vegas. The Nikon Coolpix S500 offers a resolution of 7.1 effective Megapixels, an advanced in-camera image processing and a 3x optical zoom lens (range of 35-105mm on 35mm camera). The Nikon CoolPix S500 powers up in a quick 0.8 seconds and has a practically imperceptible shutter release time lag of less than 0.005 seconds. Interesting specifications packed in a very compact and solid housing and most of all fully automatic operation.

Read complete story about Nikon Coolpix S500

Casio test photos from Amsterdam

Posted by: Mark Peters Wednesday 4th, July 2007

We have had the Casio Exilim EX-V7 compact camera at our office for a long time, and we have made a lot of test shots in Amsterdam, among others. The new Casio Exilim EX-V7 was officially introduced at the start of 2007, and has been available quite recently. At the moment the Casio EX-V7 is the only line of Exilim camera with a 7x optical zoom lens. This is also its unique characteristic, as even with the 7x optical zoom, it maintains its slim, compact form. Additionally, the Casio Exilim EX-V7 has a CCD stabiliser system, and a new processor: the Exilim Engine 2.0. Casio is one of the pioneers of the digital camera market and is outstanding for integrating innovative image solutions in its compact cameras.

Read complete story about Casio Exilim EX-V7

Canon EOS 400D review

Posted by: Mark Peters Monday 20th, November 2006

Three years ago, Canon shocked the camera market with the introduction of the 8 Megapixel EOS 300D. It was a price breakthrough that would prove very important for the DSLR market. Suddenly, a digital SLR camera had become available for the novice photographer. And things didn't end there; since this event, digital SLR models have been in high demand. After a year and a half, Canon introduced the EOS 350D, which easily matched the success of its predecessor. It was a pretty safe bet that the successor of the EOS 350D would once again follow a year and a half later. Such was indeed the case. Canon's latest DSLR camera, the successor of the EOS 350D, turns out to be the Canon EOS 400D, a ten Megapixel model.

Read complete story about Canon EOS 400D

Kodak EasyShare V610 review

Posted by: Ilse Jurrien Monday 18th, September 2006

When the first rumours about a new Kodak Easy-Share dual lens camera with CCD went around, the attention was drawn quickly. Indeed, Kodak introduced a digital camera with these techniques not long afterwards. The EasyShare V570 was a camera which had an extra wide-angle lens and a standard 3x optical zoom. The concept was on hand and Kodak got to work to apply this technique in a new digital camera: the 6.1 Megapixel Kodak EasyShare V610. The Kodak V610 digital camera is fairly compact and has a sleek design. Having a resolution of 6.1 Megapixel, which is considered more or less standard nowadays, the Kodak EasyShare V610 ensures enough image information to make a poster size print. The Kodak V610 is designed for a wide target group of consumers who are looking for a user friendly digital camera, where the main thing is ease and at the same time innovation. As far as the housing goes, not much has changed compared to the EasyShare V570: only the back has undergone a small facelift.

Read complete story about Kodak V610 review

Fujifilm FinePix F30 review

Posted by: Ilse Jurrien Friday 8th, September 2006

Fujifilm set a trend with the Fujifilm F10: digital compact cameras with a high ISO sensitivity. The brand has gone one step further with the recently introduced Fujifilm FinePix F30 digital camera. The maximum sensitivity has been raised to ISO 3200, which was previously unheard of in a digital compact camera like this one. This breakthrough was made possible by the 6 Megapixel Super CCD HR image sensor, already the sixth generation and the Real Photo Processor 2.

Read complete story about Fujifilm F30 review


The market for digital compact cameras is steady but does no longer show a significant growth. Within the camera market, the digital SLR camera expanded its market share which gave camera manufacturers like Nikon and Canon a boost in sales. However, the DSLR segment is changing and although the traditional DSLR is still the most important one for consumer and professional photographers, a new segment is grabbing market share and attention from the public. Micro Four Thirds, and other system cameras from Sony and Samsung, could change today’s market share. Canon and Nikon will not give away their market share for free… Photokina 2012 Imaging & Trade show will be the place to be and to get the latest information from all camera manufacturers and their digital cameras.